Are you in need of a Virginia sex crimes lawyer?
A sex crime is any form of sexual misconduct, illegal sexual behavior, sexual assault, or illegal pornography or child pornography.
Being charged with a sex offense in Virginia is undoubtedly stressful. Accompanying harsh penalties are severe consequences such as loss of vital civil rights and lifetime registration as Virginia sex offenders.
Although the highest percentage of sex offenses involve physical contact with the victim, it’s not always the case. Other wrongdoings in which the culprit acts without the consent of the victim are also sex crimes, for instance, indecent exposure.
Understanding all Virginia’s sex crimes laws is a daunting task for anyone without prior experience in the state laws. Besides, trying to build a defense against a sex crimes charge on your own may prove ineffective. Therefore, it’s critical that anyone accused of a sex offense consult an experienced sex crimes attorney with an in-depth understanding of the law and can guide them through the case.
For help with being charged with a sex offense conviction in Virginia, turn to attorney Jad Sarsour. Jad has substantial knowledge and decades of experience that enable him to passionately and successfully fight for the rights of individuals accused of sex offenses in the state of Virginia. Contact us today for a free consultation.
In Virginia’s court system, sex crimes are covered in VA code section 18.2-61 through section 18.2-67.10. These crimes are classified into two broad categories: aggravated sexual battery and sexual offenses under Virginia Laws.
Sexually violent offenses are generally severe and come with harsher penalties. They include but are not limited to forcible sodomy, rape, rape of a minor, abduction with immoral purpose, aggravated sex battery, taking indecent liberties with a minor, object sexual penetration, and indecent exposure.
A Virginia Sex crime charges such as unlawfully photographing another person is less severe than sexually assaulted crimes but still carries substantial punishments, including compulsory life-long registration in Virginia sexual offender registry.
Typically, sex crimes such as rape, indecent liberties, and object sexual penetration, aggravated sexual battery, indecent exposure, and child pornography are regarded as felonies in Virginia law. Being accused of a sex crime case in Virginia should not be taken lightly and you should firstly hire a sex crime attorney who will fight for you completely.
VA code section 18.2-67.4 defines sex battery as the sexual abuse against the will of the complainant through intimidation, force, ruse, or threat. It’s a class 1 misdemeanor punishable with up to 1-year jail term and/or $2500 fine.
Note that conviction of sex crime in Virginia for the third time incurs a separate felony charge that requires to register as a sex offender. Sexual battery against a minor also requires the convicted person to register as a sex offender.
Virginia Code section 18.2-67.4: 1 outlines the penalties for infected sex crimes.
According to VA section 18.2-67.4: 1(A), a person who engages in sexual intercourse, anal intercourse, fellatio, anilingus, or cunnilingus with another person with the intent of infecting them with syphilis, hepatitis, or HIV/AIDS, is guilty of a felony. The corresponding punishment is 1 to 5-year imprisonment, or at the discretion of court or jury, reduced penalty of up to one-year imprisonment and/or $2500 fine.
If the perpetrator does not intend to infect the victim with the diseases mentioned above, then VA code section 18.2-67.4: 1B) classifies this crime as a class 1 misdemeanor. In this case, the accused faces up to 12 months in jail and/or $2500 maximum fine.
For help and more information on sexual battery and infected sexual battery laws or any other sex crime charges, it’s wise to contact an experienced sex crimes attorney like Jad Sarsour for a free consultation and the best possible outcome.
Any intercourse with a child under thirteen years of age is rape and carries compulsory life imprisonment if the offender is at least 18 years old under Virginia Law.
VA code section 18.2-63 covers another form of a sexual crime against children-carnal knowledge of a minor between 13 and 15 years. It becomes a class 4 felony when an adult carnally knows a child between 13 years and 15 years, without force.
Sex crimes against a minor are regarded as a class 6 felony when a person:
Nonetheless, if the consenting minor is less than three years the accused’s junior, the accused is guilty of a class 4 misdemeanor.
Sexual battery against a minor younger than 13 years is a felony punished with a 1-20-year jail term and a $100,000 maximum fine. An adult can be charged with a class 5 felony if they take indecent liberties with a minor.
The above is just a snippet of the Virginia law that covers sexual crimes against children. So, it may be difficult to understand, let alone know, how to proceed with any charge associated with a sexual offense against a child in Virginia. Competent lawyers for sex offender, therefore, becomes handy in such situations.
Minors accused of sexual offenses against other children face a different set of penalties under the Virginia law. If a minor commits a non-consensual against a minor three years younger, the accused is guilty of a felony punished with a jail term lying somewhere between one and five years. This is a very serious crime in Virginia.
When a consenting minor is less than three years younger than the accused juvenile, it’s classified as a class 4 misdemeanor. You will need an attorney who is experienced in these charges in Virginia. People often ruined after state and federal charge such as rape charges, battery charges, child pornography charges, and all other sex crimes charges. An attorney such as Jad Sarsour, a top criminal defense attorney in Virginia.
Most of the crimes that require registration with the Virginia Sexual Offenders Registry are those violent or committed against children. Some of the necessary information during registration include the offender’s current mailing and physical address, driver’s license number, and fingerprints.
The accused must also submit to be photographed by the local law enforcement every two years. Anyone can access the registry online.
You could petition for removal from the registry after five years if you were convicted in Virginia. The court will require you to undergo a comprehensive psychological assessment, after which it holds a hearing to establish whether or not to grant the petition under Virginia Law.
A reputable and proven sex crime lawyer can help you determine whether you are eligible for relief from the sex offender registry and offer you excellent representation during the hearing. If you’ve been accused of a sex crime contact Jad Sarsour an experienced Virginia Criminal sex crimes attorney who works with his clients thoroughly to get the case dismissed or get your case lessened greatly. Call for a free consultation.
Defending against a sex crime charge requires comprehensive investigation and outstanding legal expertise. Contact us at Jad Sarsour, Criminal Defense Attorney Law Firm, for a free consultation, and for help with defense today by calling the number or via the email listed on our website for the best possible outcome. Jad Sarsour a Virginia criminal lawyer who has handled numerous sex crime cases.