Month

August 2015
Whether you should talk to police after an accident is a tricky question. Each situation is different and the right course of action will depend on the specifics of the situation. When most drivers are involved in an accident, their first inclination is to be cooperative with the police when they arrive to investigate the...
Read More
Virginia is known for being incredibly tough on drivers who break the law. In a recent decision by the Virginia Court of Appeals, it seems that being tough on drivers has been taken to a new level. Wilson v. Commonwealth This month, the Virginia Court of Appeals issued a decision in the case of Wilson...
Read More
Like with so many legal questions, it is not always clear whether the police have the right to search your vehicle after an accident. However, the question has been addressed by many courts, including the Supreme Court. The answer depends on the specific circumstances of your situation, but some general rules have been put in...
Read More
If you drive long enough on Northern Virginia roads, the odds are that you will be involved in some type of automobile accident. In 2014, for example, there were over 120,000 reportable (meaning that there was injury, death, or property damage of over $1500) traffic accidents in Virginia and there was a reportable accident every...
Read More
Virginia is infamous for being tough on drivers who break the law. There are many violations that can get your driver’s license suspended as a penalty. Some of these are merely civil violations while others are crimes. Many of these violations come with automatic suspensions upon being charged while others can carry suspension upon conviction....
Read More
When you cross over into Prince William County from Fairfax County on Interstate 95, you may notice a sign that proclaims the stretch of road to be a “Highway Safety Corridor.” It promises higher fines and stepped-up enforcement for traffic violations in this area. Unless you have been pulled over for a violation in this...
Read More
If you have driven on the roads of northern Virginia for any amount of time, you have most likely seen what you consider to be aggressive driving. Every day you can see cars driving 30 or 40 miles an hour over the speed limit, lane changes within a hair’s breadth of other cars, five lane...
Read More
Everyone who drives in northern Virginia knows the frustration that often accompanies driving in the area. You see it every day – drivers cutting each other off, people driving on the shoulder of the road to get to an exit when traffic is stopped ahead of them, and many other behaviors that one typically thinks...
Read More
Virginia has a very broad definition on the one hand for reckless driving and then also has very specific violations that are also enumerated as reckless driving in no less than 13 behavior-specific laws. Some have opined that Virginia uses its broad reckless driving provision as a catch-all for drivers whose behavior, to law enforcement...
Read More
As previously examined in this blog, Virginia has a statute that gives a very broad definition of what constitutes reckless driving. It is so broad, in fact, that it seems that it gives carte blanche to police officers to charge drivers at the drop of a hat if they so choose. We are only talking...
Read More
1 2